History of RECOMB-seq

RECOMB-seq was founded in 2011 as a response to the expanding applications of high-throughput sequencing as a tool of basic science and biomedicine. The conference gathered leading researchers in computational genomics and genomic biology to discuss emerging frontiers in algorithm development for sequencing data. The emphasis is on applying computational approaches to improve analysis, interpretation and data management. Since then, the scope of RECOMB-seq has expanded beyond sequencing data to include assembled data as well, all the while focusing on methodological developments. To reflect this, the conference name was changed in 2022 from “RECOMB Satellite Workshop on Massively Parallel Sequencing” to “RECOMB Satellite Conference on Biological Sequence Analysis.”

You can watch some previous talks of the conference at our YouTube channel.

Previous iterations

Program Committee Chairs

  • 2024: Ritambhara Singh and Mingfu Shao
  • 2023: Broňa Brejová and A. Ercüment Çiçek
  • 2022: Ben Langmead
  • 2021: Cinzia Pizzi and Layla Oesper
  • 2020: Leena Salmela and Rob Patro
  • 2019: Christina Boucher and Vikas Bansal
  • 2018: Mark Chaisson and Rayan Chikhi
  • 2017: Fereydoun Hormozdiari and Jian Ma
  • 2016: Carl Kingsford and Alexander Schoenhuth
  • 2015: Niko Beerenwinkel and Jan Korbel
  • 2014: Mihai Pop and Ali Bashir
  • 2013: Haixu Tang and Tao Jiang
  • 2012: Paul Medvedev and Eleazar Eskin
  • 2011: Can Alkan

Keynote Speakers:

  • 2024: Mona Singh and Heng Li
  • 2023: Shilpa Garg and Gioele La Manno
  • 2022: Arang Rhie and Siavash Mirarab
  • 2021: Ben Langmead and Nadia Pisanti
  • 2020: Paola Bonizzoni and Zamin Iqbal
  • 2019: Adam Phillippy and Melissa Gymrek
  • 2018: Alexis Battle and Olivier Jaillon
  • 2017: Olga Troyanskaya and Sharon Aviran
  • 2016: Jared Simpson and Christina Boucher
  • 2015: Gerton Lunter and Jacek Błażewicz
  • 2014: Cecilia Lo and Ben Raphael
  • 2013: Inna Dubchak, Bing Ren, and Colin Collins
  • 2012: Alex Zelikovsky and Pavel Pevzner
  • 2011: Lior Pachter and David Jaffe

Steering Committee Alumni

  • Inanc Birol
  • Michael Brudno
  • Eran Halperin
  • Pavel Pevzner
  • Benjamin Raphael
  • S. Cenk Şahinalp

Best Paper Award

  • 2023: Noor Pratap Singh, Michael I Love and Rob Patro. TreeTerminus - Creating Transcript Trees Using Inferential Replicate Counts
  • 2019: C.A. Darby, J.R. Fitch, P.J. Brennan, B.J. Kelly, N. Bir, V. Magrini, J. Leonard, C.E. Cottrell, J.M. Gastier-Foster, R.K. Wilson, E.R. Mardis, P. White, B. Langmead, M. C. Schatz: Samovar: Single-Sample Mosaic Single-Nucleotide Variant Calling with Linked Reads

Best Poster Award

  • 2023: Vikram Shivakumar, Omar Ahmed, Sam Kovaka, Mohsen Zakeri and Ben Langmead. Sigmoni: Efficient Pangenome Multi-Classification of Nanopore Signal
  • 2018: Damla Senol Cali Accelerating Approximate Pattern Matching with PiM/SIMD Programming